I Forge Iron

What scrap metal to look out for?

Being a total newb at this- I've only had some 1018 scraps to tinker with.

I have my sister's old farm that has a "junkpile" of old metal/equipment/parts that I have yet to see in person.
I mentioned I'd like to get some scrap metal, and I've been told I can pick away at my heart's content.

What sort of things should I look for?
Best types of metal to snag on my picking expidition?

Depends on what you want to make, some will be mild, some will be medium C and some will be high C. I think there is a post or series here somewhere listing salvaged steel types. Off the top of my head, hay rake tines are the high side of medium carbon and tough, mower blades are higher carbon, good for blades and such. potato harvester chain is medium to high carbon and good for such. Most construction steels will be mild, angle iron, shapes, tension rods and such.

Don't worry, someone who actually knows will be along presently.

Frosty The Lucky.

Depends on what you want to make and old Ag piles can have real wrought iron in them too!

In general anything that's not too large or too small or too chewed up or PLATED, (galvanized, chrome, nickle, cadmium, etc).

I like to look for items that are already 1/2 way to something I want to make---eg have an upset area with tapered down areas that I can use, good length, etc.

How much storage do you have? Many new smiths overdo it and have a large scrap pile that sits around for years until the neighbors show up with pitchforks and torches and code enforcement. (one new smith exulted over all the RR spikes he had collected, *many* *times* the number I have used in over 30 years of smithing!) If your sister is willing to "save the pile for you" I'd only take the best stuff (as scrappers can come along and steal it)