I Forge Iron

Request for Lock making book

Bentiron1946

Bentiron, the book David linked to is a good general book on locks, but doesn't have the kind of info you're looking for.

I'm a locksmith by trade, and have a fairly extensive library ... I'll take a browse through a few books and see if I can find one that has what you're looking for. Unfortunately, info on lock making is fairly rare.

The Spruce Forge "manual of Locksmithing"A Blacksmith guide to simple lock mechanisms by bill Morrison and Dennis Frechette
ISBN 0-615-11822-4
shows tools needed shows how to make Pipe locks,Spring lock, Trunk lock, Cupboard lock, Door lock, Gate lock.
I got my copy from Nation Builder Books ,PO BOX 253 Leesburg, VA 20178 ,800 480-5808; www.NBBooks.com
I believe you could adapt the information in the book to make what you want.

I'll look for that title, thanks for the information!
David, "my brain processes decrease due to increasing sleep deprivation." I suffered from sleep apnea for years and didn't know it until my doctor asked how I was sleeping. I don't know if you have this problem or not but I went and had a sleep study done and it showed I was coming awake over 80 times and hour so now I have a CPAP machine and wake up rested and awake. Look into if think this may be your problem.

WOW! $52 plus shipping for the book. It will have to wait till next months government stipend. Thanks for the link.

(not to mention your SO getting awakened a lot too! I started sleeping much better once my wife got a CPAP system and I didn't wake up and start counting seconds and elbowing her when the count got excessive between breaths---I found it very hard to go back to sleep when my wife wasn't breathing.)