I Forge Iron

Parallel crevice (undercut?)

This is probably a rookie problem, hence the rookie question, but I am one of those "self taught" stick welders, and I have a puzzling situation.

I have welded a ball (cut from a trailer hitch) to the end of a piece of 3/4" square. Seemed to go pretty good.

However, I noticed a shallow cleft area that parallels the bead up on the ball. So I figure to hit it with a shallow grind and simply fill it with another bead. Well, as that one fills, another crevice forms above the new weld. This is not a sharp crack, but more of a soft-edged fissure.

I'm using a Lincoln 225AC. I've tried both 7018's and 1611's... same problem. And I've backed down on my amperage about as low as I can go.

Any ideas (besides "you need to go to welding school" <_< I know, I know. )

Thanks,

Don

It is undercutting. What is happening is the fill is melting some of the parent metal, but not fusing. When the weld cools and shrinks it pulls itself apart.

I have done it myself, and I fixed it by working the bead wider and keeping the puddle hot longer moving the puddle down the seam slower, so more fill material was added. I do not know if this is the right way, but it worked for me and what I was doing. I was working on 1/4 inch material.

My prof kept a few of my samples because they were so clear...I still don't know how to feel about that and it has been 12 years... (not welding school, manufacturing technology lab. We had about an hour of book training and 30 minutes of hands on welding)

I did it a few weeks ago with a MIG too, running flux core. I just slowed down and it was better. I do not weld very often.

Phil

First, 7018 is DC rod, not AC. E 6011 is AC but your amperage is too high. E6011 is kind of tricky to run till you get used to it but it's less sensitive to dirt and poor conditions. It's always going to give you a rough bead compared to a 70xx rod as it's a fast freeze rod. As Phil says it's pulling the weld causing the cracks.