I Forge Iron

Forge welding copper?

fluidsteel

So,

As a plumber I get a good bit of copper scrap every year.

I use some of the thicker stuff for guards on my knives, but 99% goes to the scrapper to fund my tool budget.

That being said, has anyone here successfully forge welded copper pipe together to make thicker pieces for guards, etc?

I have a blown gas forge with a type K thermocouple. I can run it without too much work at most temps up to 2,400 degrees+

Should I try it like I'm making Mokume but with only copper?

I say try it and educate the rest of us I have no idea but would like to know.
I took my personal forge to one of our conferences a few years ago and one of the demonstrators melted a copper rod in it by mistake and I ended up replacing the refractory so I could forge weld in it again because the copper contaminated it beyond steel forge welding use.

I forge welds nicely. keep it clean, don't bother with flux.run rich as an oxidizing atmosphere will stop a weld quickly.
If you are doing large flat areas like Damascus it is imperative that you have shiny material and that they are as close fitting as possible, and held together as you heat to keep the air away from the joint.
As with mokume a small jig to hold the stack together helps.
The layers are still a weak point when you are done,until you really get things moved around. If it where me I would save the trouble and just get some larger dimensional material, unless you were specifically wanting Mokume. there is a learning curve and there will be waste till you get used to it.
Or conversely, like Thomas says, why not cast it? It would be much easier.

I have plenty of 1/8"-1/4"x2"x2" pieces salvaged from 100# of old fuses for Mokume.

I was just thinking ahead and considering a turned copper handle for a future project.

I have 100# of scrap copper, and 300# of mixed brass. I get that much or more annually.

Since I have a dozen soft firebricks I'll try melting a batch.

Thanks guys.