I Forge Iron

My very first knife!!!

metal99

Hello everybody, I just wanted to show everybody my first actual knife.
A little about me. My name is Julius, I have been tinkering with knife making since I was about nine or ten years old. I have always been a hands on type of guy and have never been afraid of new things. I am an apprentice at an autobody shop and have been in the trade for about 10 years. This is the very first actual knife that I have made.

A little about the knife. I forged the blade out of a chevy truck tailgate torsion spring so I have no clue what kind of steel it is. I did a few tests with it to see how hard it would get and what the best temperature would be to draw a usable temper with. After I found the hardness I wanted I did a little destruction testing with the steel and had very good results so I decided it was probably going to work well for a knife. The rod was about 5/16 around so I forged a hidden tang knife with a 4 1/4 inch blade. I welded a stud onto the end of the tang so I didnt have to peen the base on. I made the finger guard and base out of brass stock. The handle is a 1/16 inch thick of rosewood laminated inbetween two ebony scales. For spacers I used un-stabilized deer antler from one of my Dads small bucks. The handle was wet sanded with minwax tung oil finish up to 2000 grit then hand buffed with cotton. All of the polishing was done by hand on my strop after sanding up to 3000 grit sand paper.

There are quite a few things that bug me about this knife but for the first one I guess its gotta do. Because the antler was not stabilized the pores filled up with the slurry from wet sanding the tung oil in so that kinda bugs me. Other then that a good machine polish would probably fix it up.