I Forge Iron

M & H Armitage Mouse Ear

I'm a blacksmithing noob. I lucked across an anvil and a gas forge and I can't wait to try them out. I think the anvil is about an 1830 model and is definitely well-seasoned. It still has a nice ring, though. The face dips a little in the middle and is beaten up.

The condition of the face doesn't matter much to me at this point as it's much better than what I've been using. However, I'm guessing the face will leave impressions in the steel. At some point, I'll consider resurfacing the face, but I don't want to ruin the anvil.

Any opinions?

post-24421-0-09043500-1330095597_thumb.j

post-24421-0-76462400-1330095629_thumb.j

At some point, I'll consider resurfacing the face, but I don't want to ruin the anvil. Any opinions?

Nice anvil. A pic of the face would be good....In any case I wouldn't get too heavy handed with that one. It looks like it could be a collectable anvil to me and may be worth more than a new(er) anvil. Leave it as is till the experts chime in.

That is a nice anvil, looks like it has generally decent edges (not perfect though, but hey, you won't be perfect when you are 182 years old) Use it, treat it right and work hot iron on it, or annealed softer metals and it will look just as nice when you are ready to part with it.

Make a bolster plate to match the hardy and then make an edge tool for the hardy when you need clean sharp edges. You probably do not want to do heavy upsetting into the hardy hole.

Phil