I Forge Iron

a new knife i had made

hobby forger

• 2 weeks later...

Have you thought about doing anything for the handle? Maybe a para-cord or leather wrap, if you don't have to tools to do a wooden or metal handle. Have you tempered the blade in any way? If you are planning on using it I would temper it so it will hold an edge better.
Now this is just my two cents, I'm no expert but I hope it helped.

I am not only old but picky,,Tempering is only one step in the heat treat process. If folks new to knife making read this they may look up tempering and go right to that with disappointing results. There is a ton of information on this site about heat treqting blades. Good thing to learn all of the steps.

What alloy? "Hay Brown Temper" would be great for some alloys and horrible for others and useless for even other alloys.

What quenchant?

Have you thought of draw filing the blade bevel much further toward the spine? A slim taper cuts much better than a short "fat" bevel.

When's number 2 due?

Quenchant is what you quench the blade in to harden it after heating to critical temperature. Most knife alloys use some type of oil; but a few can be quenched in water and a few will even harden in air!

It is a sad fact of life that you may never have as much free time as you do while in HighSchool. Most work weeks far exceed time spent at school and when you are on your own a lot of time is spent on the basic mechanics of life, shopping, cooking food, maintaining a house and car and then the big one of possibly having a family! (Currently my Father is ill and I am spending every other weekend driving several hours to help out at my parents house and all my projects are in abeyance for the foreseeable future...)