I Forge Iron

My first ever project

Ozark Nick

Hi all, newbie here. Got bit by the blacksmith bug sometime in January and before I knew it I had a forge and a small piece of railroad rail to pound on.

Last weekend was the first time I was able to get it all together (and when the weather cooperated) and I was able to really bang on some hot metal for the first time.

Started out with some 1/4-inch round stock and made these three hooks.

DSCF2107.JPG

The left one was the first. Middle was second, much happier with how it turned out. The third one I did only because I just had to try a twist.

:)

I know I've got a long way to go, but I am very excited! Also just got Lorelie Sims' book in the mail yesterday.

Thanks!

Welcome to IFI, Nick. Looks like you are on your way. You will enjoy Lorelei's book. Don't stop with just one book, though. There are a lot of them out there with a lot of info in them. The main thing is to practice as much as possible. Find some local smiths and get together with them. Hands on practice will help you answer a lot of questions. Keep hammering. I look forward to seeing many more of your projects posted on this site. :)

how cool to have picked the right bug nick :) your excitement is really great - and hooks are a good thing to try becasue you can Use Them which is always very satisfying :) i dont know what stock you can get hold of but there are endless variety of hooks you can practise on and see what you like visually, for me its mainly in the curve and scale of the hook, you can make the curve really beautiful once you get your eye in. its groovy doing twists too isnt it? :) welcome to the forum hope you get loads of ideas and info - look in the gallery when you have a minute :)