I Forge Iron

Belt grinder advice..

mfm22

Looked at a few 2 X 72 belt grinders and it seems like sky is the limit !

I'm new to this and not going to buy a top of the line machine and I'm not going to build one [not knowing what I really need yet]

So I looked at things like Grizzly [i have their bandsaw and drill press -good for me] but read some not so flattering reviews .

The price is good but I could go to about $ 1000. for peace of mind and confidence in unit ,

right now I have a standard belt grinder -old craftsman 4 x 36 with wheel on side plus a small 1x30 ryobi sander wheel on side [removeable wheel ]

Should I start with these ?? also have a delta 6" grinder .. grinder can be buffer or cut off I guess .

I read the $ 50 knife book ,good read a bit confusing [for me] . He is quite creative and did a lot with little . I don't have his ingenuity or time to do builds .

Looking for some good solid basics to get started .I will keep reading sticky -new builder-it's GOOD.
Thanks

I have a Grizzly. Got it nearly new for $300 from Craigslist. It came with about $150 worth of belts and a $70 10" wheel thrown in. Great deal; good machine.

The only modification I have made was to install a ceramic platten... well worth the effort.

That said, a new Griz to your door will be $574

If I was in that range and couldn't sqeeze the extra for a KMG, I'd get a Coote and find a motor somewhere.

If I could scrape up the big bucks (1k+), I'd definitely go KMG.