I Forge Iron

homemade forklift anvil

hey guys im BRAND new at this. I was in Afghanistan and started watching youtube videos and the bug bit before i ever even seen an anvil. Anyway when i got home i constructed a 30# propane bottle forge and this. My homemade forklift anvil. It weighs 175# and was all welded with 7018 rod AC. Preheated with a forced air heater for 30 mins before and after each weld period. Tell me what you think. Horn has not been grinded yet and probably wont for a while. I read here it should be verticle stacked. I tried to do everything i read here to improve the finished product. Tell me what you thinkpictures

post-24073-0-76792600-1328232933_thumb.j

post-24073-0-79235600-1328232958_thumb.j

post-24073-0-47413500-1328232977_thumb.j

post-24073-0-43421700-1328233039_thumb.j

AhHA! Bandsaw!

Lay out your horn and saw the bulk of the material off...if the saw is capable. That will save you hours with the grinder. If you can saw the horn to octagonal.

Nice looking. Full penetration or edge welds? with that much mass and the solidness of a fork tine it probably doesn't make a lot of difference.

Phil

actually, with the mass and size of a fork lift tine, you don't need to shape it like a London pattern anvil...you need a short straight section, a rounded over edge, a sharp edge about 3" long, and mostly a solid structure that won't dance when you hammer on it.