I Forge Iron

What do you think of this southern crescent anvil?

I was considering going to look at this one this weekend. This guy said its a southern crescent anvil at 150lbs and wants $400. I never did try to negotiate down. Tell me what you think.
I live in Alabama.
Measurements are 11"H x 4" W x 22.5" L

AnvilSide.jpg
securedownload-1-1.jpg

It is a casting with fairly decent edges on it. It is a "painted lady" so damage may be hidden. The shape screams "cast iron" to me, but I have no experience with that brand. If it is a real anvil with proper rebound (use a ball bearing and do a drop test, minimum 50% rebound from 10 inches or walk away) then you can talk price. I think he is asking way too much because you are in an area that should have readily available top quality anvils.

Phil

Seems a bit much for a working anvil, $2.67/#, for a Southern Crescent collectors anvil it may be low. I don't know what else he has on hand but I ask if he has any thing else for around $2.50/#. Having them all painted can hide a lot of faults but so can a heavy layer of rust and mud. Take a hammer with you so you can hear the sound of the anvil, it should have a good solid sound to it. No visible cracks or bondo repairs to it, all things that can be hidden with a paint job. I sold my wrought iron anvil to Harold for $2/# and I think it was a fair price for it, I guess he did too as he smoked the ground getting it in his truck before I could ask for more.
That sure looks like a Vulcan and perhaps the edges of the hard face have been rewelded so check out for sure what it looks like in person. I don't know that I'd spend that much money on it.