I Forge Iron

Belt Grinder Belts

So, I am finally going to build myself a belt grinder. Since I am rather new to the world of belt grinders, I have a question for those of you with more experience.

I have heard/read more than once that good quality belts are important... So where do you get your belt grinder belts, or what brands do you use?

I've been using big box belts, whatever they have, and have also used better belts. Night and day difference. When I plan on doing some grinding I will order some good belts. For tool sharpening and whatnot I use the cheap ones I get locally. The surface finish is the same, but the longevity and speed of stock removal is very different.

Phil

• 8 months later...

I did a bp on this years back with all of the belts I use for knife making, I use the same belts for stainless steel and high carbon steel. The bp is number o235 you can find it in the pages section. Since I made that bp I have changed the coarse belts listed to norton blaze belts. I still use trizac belts for finer but they make a lrixac with a serrated face, I do not like that belt. I prefer the p;lain trizac.

Google-POPS Knife supply.

Big selection of all your needs for knife production and the prices are very reasonable. If you call when they are open (1600 -2000 M-F EST) the gentleman is very knowledgable and will help you any way he can.

Good luck with your project.
Peter

Wow, this thread came back to life. I started with some belts from usaknifemaker; they seemed to work pretty well, but for a college student, $15 seems kinda high for a single belt.

Right now I'm trying out some belts from this local place: http://www.fintechabrasives.com/sanding-belts