I Forge Iron

What type of forge is this?

David Dix

I just picked up my first forge. (very exciting!!!) The problem is that the belt (maybe leather) that went around the spin wheel and blower was so old it just fell apart. I set it out straight at it measured 36" long, 7/8" wide, and 1/4" thick. I took a wire brush to the forge to clean it up, and the only thing I could make out was the numbers either 150 or 160 directly underneath the coal pan. Being a beginner, I have no idea what brand or model the forge is. I live in Collinsville, Il. Is there somewhere nearby I might be able to find a replacement belt? I think once the blower is cleaned out, the workings lubricated, and a new belt, it should work like a champ. Here are some photos of the forge:
post-22342-0-37945300-1311269638_thumb.j
post-22342-0-44103100-1311269666_thumb.j
post-22342-0-41257000-1311269697_thumb.j

That looks like the kind of forge I've been told is a rivet forge. Used to heat rivets for building girder construction buildings in the early 1900s' before welding the beams became the standard in the 40s and 50s. The forge man would heat the rivets then with pair of tongs throw them to a catcher, who had a funnel shaped catch. Who would hand them off to the riveter. The riveter would set the rivet with the help of a man who had a large piece of steel that was used to buck the back of the rivet. I saw some film on that the other day on the history channel. It was very informative.

Note that pretty much every hardware store sold these things at one time often under their own name and pretty much every general foundry probably made some too.

Unless there is a name on the blower you're down to the basics: the "type" is a coal forge and the model is a rivet/farrier's forge with a ratchet crank for the blower.