I Forge Iron

HI, I'm new to blacksmithing, and i recently decided to try melting down some wire from a jumpstart cable that was broken. I think it is copper. Can I put the metal into a thick casserole dish to melt down, or will that not work? thanks

HI, I'm new to blacksmithing, and i recently decided to try melting down some wire from a jumpstart cable that was broken. I think it is copper. Can I put the metal into a thick casserole dish to melt down, or will that not work? thanks

That will not work, at least not safely. Household ceramics are not made to hold up to the temperatures and thermal shock that a crucible experiences, or to retain strength at extreme temperatures. (They may be fired at those temperatures, but they are ramped up and down very slowly -- many times slower than what a crucible experiences -- and they are not asked to do work at firing temperatures.) And molten metal is much more dangerous than solid metal at just about any temperature.

If these are copper cables, the melting point is near 2000 F -- and you need to superheat by a few hundred degrees for casting. For these sorts of temperatures you really need a crucible made of some sort of refractory material. For lower melting metals you can get by with a welded steel crucible if you don't mind contaminating the melt, but that's not a good idea for something that melts as high as copper.

Are you trying to cast something to near final shape, or do you just want to melt the stuff into ingot form, then work the solid ingot to shape? If all you want to do is melt it into an ingot, you can get some scrap graphite (e.g., from eBay), route/carve/mill a cavity in it, and melt your copper directly in that cavity. In that case the graphite serves as both crucible and mold. I know a guy who makes shibuichi ingots this way. Put some charcoal on top of the wire to help prevent the metal from absorbing contaminants from the forge atmosphere.