I Forge Iron

Is there anything wrong with this anvil?

http://www.nctoolco.com/pages/anvils3.htm

It seems kind of oddly shaped, sort of thin in spots like the heel and the horn is weird. I know it's because it's a ferrier's anvil, but is there any reason this wouldn't work for more standard blacksmithing work? The largest stock I use is 5/8 mild steel or else railroad spikes which I think are a bit thicker. I'm looking for a horn that I can use to make circles and things since right now all I have is a flat steel plate. Is there any reason this horn wouldn't work for that? Thanks for any help you can give me, I'm pretty new at all this.

Really is up to you. A cone mandrel could also be helpful in a circle, as well as, a jig that is already round and mounted and can fit to a vise and/or table.

Personally, and is just my opinion, I would spend the money on an anvil that didn't have the "extras" that the farrier anvils seem to have. I have a peddinghause that I have really grown to forging on.

Here is a link to one: http://piehtool.com/contents/en-us/d1330.html

Hope it helps

those nc anvils are nice little anvils they are light the calvary is heavier and has a rounder horn out of the two the calvary would probaly be best choice also look at jhm anvils and emerson while still technicaly a horseshoer anvil they are pretty nice

I don't know for whom the so called "farrier anvils" are designed.The turning cams are for "cold shoers". I crawled under probably 20,000 head of horses before I stopped shoeing and I don't recall ever seeing a shoer use one of the new highly altered "shoers" anvils. The real US Cavalry anvils were around a 115-125#(Never weighed one but spent lots of time at one) basic blacksmith anvil. Shop around and get a blacksmith anvil. I think you'll like it.