I Forge Iron

champion blower repair / what to look for when buying

kunkle

Hello,

I am suppose to look a champion blower tonight (June 27) thats for sale. I have never a hand crank blower (mine have been makeshift everything else). I dont want to spend a lot for it and then sink a bunch into it to make it work. So can you give me some pointers on what to look and how to test it out. Where to get repair parts? I work part time at a bicycle shop and from my understanding there are loose bearings and cones to check and that it should turn freely with 0.010 side play in the crank. I am also under the impression that there are fine threads on soft metal so it needs to be cleaned real well and soaked in penetrating oil before attempting disassembly. please correct me if wrong.

I attached pictures, he is asking $200 for the forge and blower.

Thanks for your help and insight,

Karl

post-10280-0-68595300-1309177211_thumb.j

post-10280-0-05002700-1309177227_thumb.j

I am not an expert, but these have much sloppier bearings in them than a bicycle. I am fairly sure that my champion #40 uses bushings. When I got my blower, which is in very good condition I slowly cranked it though a few turns feeling for hiccups, gear damage, and the like. I also spun it up and made sure it would coast some, again feeling for hiccups or gear damage.

When I got it home I opened the access cover, which opened easily on mine. I rinsed with kerosene and lubricated with transmission fluid. I got my hands on some light gear oil I am going to try instead of transmission fluid, since that red stuff has a funky smell to me. (yes, even the fresh stuff I am using)

Because this is a non-sealed system, and I expected a partially sealed system I made quite a mess with the kerosene since I just dumped in about 1/2 cup.