I Forge Iron

making a hardie

Forgive me if this has been covered, but I haven't found it. I'm just starting out and was needing to make a hot cut hardie, but cant readily find 1" to make it with. Is is possible to forge weld 1/4" up to the 1" needed to make these? Has anyone done this? I would prefer to make it as opposed to buying so that I can gain the experience and better fit for my anvil. Any and all input on this and any other information for this newbie is appreciated.

A hot cut hardie can be easily made by cutting a section of angle iron. You can find a piece of flat bar that fits diagonally in the hardie hole and drill and bolt it to the angle iron.. Now tough the top edge of the angle iron with a grinder.This will put the hot cut on a diagonal, but that is useful for many things.

look for broken used jack hammer bits ... good steel and already have a shoulder built in will tale a bit of forgeing to get um into shape but they work well and last!for a hot cut just forge to shape an leave it to cool you dont have to harden as you usually heat it too much cutting anyway ..good luck!

A piece of leaf spring can work, just upset the edge in to get it to set diagonal in the hardy. You can taper it and it can fit a number of different anvils. It will tend to jam with use, but will pop free easily with a sideways tap.

Full heat treatment is optional, normalize it and use it.

Phil

Yes it is possible to weld up smaller stock into larger. However this is generally a very advanced technique. If you are just starting it's sort of like asking if brain surgery is possible and then intending to do it if the answer is yes.

There are a lot of different ways to make hardies from different scrounged materials depending on your tools and skills. Welding a piece of square steel tubing onto something using an arc welder is often done to get the stem.