I Forge Iron

Saw blades to knife blades??

Robar

I have heard and read that saw blades are good for making knife blades. I'm fairly confused on what saw blades make good knife blades. While all I have is a pic, but no specific information could someone give a clue? I found these for sale locally and am wondering if they are the right type of blade. Thanks for the help.

Robertpost-10781-0-16965600-1300991565_thumb.j

• 2 weeks later...

I sharpen bandsaw blades for a living and have collected MANY blades like the ones you have pictured. I've made several knives out of them and sold them. I always follow up my sales with a "how's it holding up?" email to my customer. I have never had a single complaint about the durability or edge holding ability of the knife. I've been corrected a time or two on my own execution- which is great btw- but never a complaint about the knife itself. I would gladly use the blades you have for knives.

Just my thoughts and experience.

Eric

Edit: I would agree with Thomas about acquiring the blades though. If you can find a local mill or saw shop, you could most likely have far more saw blades than you can use any time soon. I have paid a grand total of $0 for all of the blades that I have. Most mills end up with old and useless blades sitting around.

• 3 weeks later...

I make a lot of knives from saw blades and use an angle grinder with a cut off blade. Just be careful not to let the metal 'burn' as you cut it. Any area that turns a blue color while your cutting will be a soft spot on the blade.
If you have a friend that has a plasma cutter or own one yourself that works even better.

To echo what was already said about using an angle grinder and a cut-off wheel: BE CAREFUL!!!! If you have access to a plasma cutter, please use that instead. But if you are like me, it's the angle grinder and a lot of caution.