I Forge Iron

Making a swage block

swiftden

Hello
I am new to all this but i do have a welder and can use it. I am thinking of making a swage block since they a pretty rare beasts around here.

I thought i might try this.
http://www.anvilfire.com/21centbs/anvils/making/fabricated_swage_block.php

Once i have made it and got it all smooth etc. Should it be heat treated in any way to make it harder or stronger?

Regards
Allan

When my Dad, and I were taking welding classes at the local community college he wrote a program for a swage block for the CNC torch. They had thick scrap plate for 10 cents a pound, and Dad burned a few out of the plates available. The cuts are clean enough to pretty much use as is.

You may want to inquire around at your local CC's welding class to see what is available.

Hi Allan,
Swage blocks sure are rarer than anvils. However one is on ebay Australia at the moment; probably only for 'watchers' interest it is at $411 with 21 hrs to go! (search; SWAGE BLOCK VINTAGE BLACKSMITHS RARE ITEM IN TOP COND).
They DO turn up though, unless you are real keen and/or have an immediate use for one i'd just keep my eyes peeled. A handful have been through ebay over the last year.

Again, unless you are real keen, have the precise design in mind and have the exact materials and set up to fabricate one....

I got mine new from Paul Westra some 13 years ago (and haven't even finished fettling it!). Last I heard (a few years ago) they were over $350, I don't know if he is still making them- ask Moony on the forum, he might know.

regs, AndrewOC
PS if you explore the profile-cut-thick-plate method, tell us how you go.

Old time swage blocks were cast iron so a steel swageblock probably does not need heat treat.

However, I have found it generally easier to make up swages for use in my hardy hole for ones I need often and the swageblock I've owned since 1981 gets used only for "odd" swages seldom used.