I Forge Iron

What Should I Start With?

Hi,

I'm starting to set up a hobby smith workshop and I'm wondering what I should start with for welding. I eventually want to get into stainless and aluminum welding with the capability to so sanitary welds. I have no formal training at all, but I've welded with stick, mig, and tig, including stainless and titanium. I was a crappy stick welder, but I did all right with mig and tig through practice, as I was always basically just shown the equipment and told to go at it. I haven't done any welding for years, but I have grad level courses in welding theory, metallurgy, and microstructual elements in metals, though I need to re-read the texts.

I'm on a limited budget right now, but would rather buy the right equipment first, though my budget would be limited to $750 at the high end. Initially I'm looking just at dealing with mild steel, so I could work with an oxy/acetylene set-up, if that's the way to go right now.

Thoughts or recommendations?

Mark

I agree with Mr. Rusty. If you can weld with gas, all the other processes come easy. Plus you get the ability to heat metal with the torch which is indispensable. If you buy new, this might eat the whole budget as the tanks aren't cheap. If you have a little time you should be able to craigslist the torch and a buzzbox, which would be a be a good compliment to the oxy/acetylene.

• 4 weeks later...

All of the above. Buy a torch with cutting and welding tips and be on the lookout for a good deal on a buzz box.

I agree about the buzz box stick welder, as many have said, AC will do just about anything expensive DC, AC/DC welders can, and will weld more steels with sure welds than MIG.

Here is a video I just made outlining how well AC welding can do the job in a small shop.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J0I6XylXwis&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL