I Forge Iron

my home built anvil so far

hi all hear is my take on a scrap build.the small blocks are 24cm*12cm*6cm,the big block is 37cm*41.5cm*8cm,face(forklift tine)is 44.5cm*10cm*4.5cm.over all height 31cm or 12",i dont know the total weight should be around 70kg ish.hardy is 1"(drilled/hand filed).i already have a london pat anvil so i dont need a horn but i may add one later?,i am a very novice welder what advice would you all give. ie should i grind bevels for better penetration?what rods,i have acsess to a 275 amp stick welder but not sure i should make this my first big welding job??? thanks for looking.

post-12950-0-21795000-1294621567_thumb.j

post-12950-0-74579000-1294621570_thumb.j

post-12950-0-09132400-1294621574_thumb.j

post-12950-0-21544100-1294621581_thumb.j

post-12950-0-88735100-1294621583_thumb.j

post-12950-0-30284500-1294621587_thumb.j

not many places on there you need to grind bevels, most look like straight fillet welds. Lots of tacks and jump around, don't well too much from one side at a time. Looking good! Nice job on the hardy hole!

Most non-pros have trouble with anything over 5/23 (4mm) rod. Be nice if you could tack it all together and build a small fire around it before welding. Probably best to use low-hydrogen rod, but jet-rod (7024) would go quicker.

I would bevel pic 6 the feet to body(top & bottom) and the seam down the middle of body as deep as you feel confident filling 1/2"+ Grind flat weld that sticks up. Maybe the upper body could be beveled all around top& bottom if you wanted to make it more solid. It would depend on your access to a large grinder. That is fast work with a 9" and a soft wheel. If you use 7024 it is only for flat so you must angle it a lot but it is east rod to use. I would run the welding machine at max and size the rod accordingly and do a little practice first.