I Forge Iron

Kinyon air hammer valving

Does anyone have the Mark Linn valving schematic using a 5 way valve for the Kinyon air hammer? It used to be posted on the Alabama Forge Council website.
Thanks,
John

This diagram is the last one I saw online.... There may be some confusion about what the valve is called. You referenced a 5-way valve...the diagram says it's a 4-way valve. There has been some reference (not necessarily in this forum) to a 5 port, 4 way directional control valve when these diagrams are being discussed. I would guess it is the proper name for the valve (I'm no expert on this).

The text below accompanied it....

Good Luck....

The problem with the control system in the plans from ABANA, is that as a pneumatic system, it is un-balanced. Our control scheme allows one to balance the system and achieve maximum control, or un-balance the system when heavier blows are required, with less hammer control. With the system balanced, one can lower the hammer head and kiss the dies ever so lightly, or/and have a full heavy blow on the next cycle, or anything in between. We offer this control system for those who wish to try it and I will attempt to explain why and what we are doing. This scheme is working on a hammer, here at present and is a beauty to behold. It actually does control like the European air hammers I have seen in operation.

TRY IT YOU MIGHT LIKE IT…

This control scheme came from much aggravation, hair pulling, and yes a broken foot. After many days of total exasperation trying to get good control on the hammer, I contacted a pneumatic design engineer here in Birmingham. He offered to come by my office and discuss the problem Jeff and I were having with our control scheme. With his guidance we were able to come up with this design.
Problems: