I Forge Iron

Crafting a ring from jade.

KingAZAZ

Hello,

Since I haven't been able to turn up any good info with Google, I figure I'll turn to the place where I know many crafty folks hang out. I'm a beginner smith but since I accumulate hobbies and generally just want to make things, I've decided to make my fiancee her wedding ring.

I made her an engagement ring from coco bola and unfortunately with her sensitive skin she broke out in pretty short order with a rash everywhere the ring touched. Fortunately we aren't very superstitious so we didn't take that as an omen. :)

Anyway, my plan is to get a raw chunk of jade, probably from ebay, and to fashion a band from that. Then I'd like to inlay some silver around the band, maybe in a wavy line, maybe just a few dots, maybe a plain ol' band around the middle. Thing is, I can't find any information telling me how to go about this, so I'm issuing an open request for tips and suggestions.

If I were to take a crack at it tomorrow I would probably cut out a piece of jade, drill a hole roughly her size (size 5) and then begin the laborious process of filing the edges until it's a ring. Then I'd stick it on a mandrel in a lathe and try to put a groove around the middle and see if I could work the silver in by heating it and hammering it lightly. I dunno, I'm just making it up as I go along. What do you think?

What I would suggest is to make a ring her size in sliver that you could set the jade into.The big problem with solid stone rings is that they will break rather easily when rapped against something.It`s not a matter of if it will break it`s a matter of when.Especially when you`re talking about something thin enough to look right on a woman`s hand.
Backing the stone with metal like silver or gold supports it and makes it less likely to fracture.