I Forge Iron

beaudry upright-cushioned/ strap hammer

nope... you've never heard of me !! That's 'cause i'm a newbie.... One that really glad to have found you folks. I'm
just about to lay my hands onto this orphan.... but i'd like the opinion of the sages (yer guys, around the round table)
before i commit myself. Searched "lo and behold"... and never found anyone, nor any website, that owns/refers to it.
So... whatdayathink.... ????? (250#, circa 1897, disassembled but cautiously stored, complete with 10hp motor and
jackshaft... just as shown in the photo (but less the A frame for the jackshaft))

post-13931-0-39140800-1289307418_thumb.j

post-13931-0-99623600-1289307457_thumb.j

post-13931-0-03834000-1289307488_thumb.j

The more of Beaudry`s machines I see the more impressed I am.They seem to be simple,robustly built machines made with the operator in mind.
Access to the dies and freedom of movement of the material is several orders of magnitude better with just a simple 90 degree repositioning of the frame.The linkages all seem more user friendly and out of the way of the work and the operator and there`s very little flesh threatening parts moving up and down right in front of the operator`s face.
I can see where these hammers would be favored by the folks working them.
Thanks for sharing the pics.Got more?

Yeahhh... i like this hammer, even though it's slightly on the heavy side of what i was looking for.
I guess i'm just reluctant to break the new floor of my shop to pour a heftier foundation for it, plus
it will kinda take lots of precious floor space.... !! And i wonder how precise/delicate it's "touch" will
be for smaller stuff....
The price ($4K) is OK, since so little seems to be needed to get it running right. But then, by the time
i add all the work (concrete, floor plate, A-frame, electrics (just found out that it's a 575V 3-phase),
transportation,etc) it's going to cost me closer to $7K. In the range of a smaller Ironkiss.... but that's