I Forge Iron

Just purchased #100 Hay budden Anvil

Hey all I live in Charleston, SC and I have been searching for an anvil for some time now. Anyway everything that I saw was either to far away or I had to pay shipping for one. And shipping for a 100 to 150 pound anvil is a bit pricey. So in my recent searching I came across an ad out of Pageland, SC which is on the border of SC and NC North east of Columbia. It was about a 3 hour drive from where I live in SC.
Anyway I drove out there yesterday and the guy has over 30 anvils in his garage, he doesnt use any of them just collects them and purchases them from auctions. So just to let you guys know I am a beginner bladesmith. So I did as much research on anvils I could do before going out there.
Luckily when I arrived there was another bladesmith there who had 20 years under his belt, So I asked which one he preferred, besides the one he purchased his second choice was a #100 Hay Budden, and that was my pick. I ended up paying 325.00 total for the anvil.
I did a bounce test with a little steel ball and the anvil had a really nice ring to it along with a nice rebound. I also smacked it with a hammer and it rebounded well there too. It has a nice flat surface and the horn is in good condition as well. I brought my camera along with me but when I got there I filled with so much excitement that I forgot to take any pictures. But when I got home I took some pictures of the on I purchased . (Posted below)