I Forge Iron

Unknown terms

Hello, I have been forging and fabricating for 10 years, but haven't really done any heat treating other than annealing and case hardening when I first started. It has come to my attention that there are some terms that I just don't know or was never taught. These are magnetic and non-magnetic heats and normalising. Would be thankful if someone could enlighten me. Thanks and forgive my ignorance!

You know how to anneal, heat above critical and cool very slowly, say in a bucket of fluffy wood ash. Normalization is very similar. You heat above critical and cool in still air for many steels. It serves a similar purpose in relieving stress, and rendering a softer state, but not as soft as possible.

Magnetic: a magnet is attracted to it
non-magnetic: a magnet is not attracted to it. For many steels non-magnetic and critical happen at about the same temperature. Get a ceramic doughnut magnet, about $3 for 5 at Radio Shack, hang from a thin copper wire. If the magnet is attracted to the metal, it is magnetic, if the magnet swings naturally it is non-magnetic.

This temperature is also called the Curie point.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Curie_temperature

Phil

magnetic heat is when the steel is heated it is still magnetic.

non-magnetic heat is when heated to a high enough temp. steel loses its magnetic properties, but only while it is at that high temp. once it drops in temp it regains its magnetic properties.

normalizing...it heating the metal to it's critical temp and then allowing it to cool on its own slowly. this relieves the stresses of forging. when done prior to hardening, normalizig helps relieve the stresses that might lead to spontenious cracking when quenching hot steel.

this is my understnding of these terms. If i am wrong please someone correct me.