I Forge Iron

Oval Forge Design Questions

Robert Simmons

Greetings and Pardon the wet behind the ears, I am new to the blacksmithing and forge construction -- as well as these forums. I have been doing a great deal of research on building a forge and I have run into one question that I was hoping you all could answer for me.

First, let me tell you about me. I am a Software Enginner by trade, welder and fabricator by hobby and newbie to blacksmithing. I intend to graduate up from using my OA torch to heat metal to a propane fired forge as the OA torch is a horribly inefficient way to heat and inconveninet as well. I have researched various fforge designs and it seems round is the predominant forge design for reasons of convection. However the problem is I would like to do some metal work that might be a bit wider than might fit in a round forge. So here is my thoughts on the matter.

Since I will be forging in my garage in suburbia, I have to have an indoor forge. I have hordes of ventilation being that I can open the door if need be ans I also have a 10cfm fan in my roof with a large opening intake in the wall. Anyway for the reason that I will be working in the garage as well as efficiency I want to make a well insulated forge.

My plan is a two Rex burner forge with 2 inches of KAO Wool on the outside and the KAO Wool encased in 1 inch of refractory cement (castable). I had thought of reversing that but I am somewhat concerned about KAOwool ceramic fibers (mesothelioma in 15 years doesnt sound fun). Finally I woudl coat the inside with a refractory coating like ITC 100. Ok now the questions:

1) I had thought about building an oval forge to maximize lateral space and yet keep down volume. Would there be any problem to doing that? Would I get poor convection?

2) I had thought of setting the burners on opposite sides of the forge near the top but placed so that they would blow along the walls in an effort to get something of a heat cyclone going. Good idea?