I Forge Iron

I used to be a Firefighter and we had pikes available on our trucks. When I saw the one that Jake made for log rafting it gnawed at the back of my mind that I need one of those for the farm here and maybe for our boats too. My first one was just a hook as I had not worked out the details of forming the spike and hook on the same piece. I was not quite satisfied with that though and it kept nagging at me so today I made another with both spike and hook. Now I have to come up with a worthy pole to mount it! It was made of an old tent stake of 3/4" diameter metal that seemed to work like some real hard high carbon stuff. I had some trouble getting it split on the end and ended up using my cut-off wheel in my angle grinder for quite a bit of the cut. I had to finish it with the huge railroad hot-cut though. I did a poorer job than I would have liked at cleaning up the inner end of the split... but I am pretty sure that this hunk of hard steel isn't going to crack apart on me. I believe that I could pull any of our trucks with this hook. It is heavy duty for sure! Eleven and one half inch long by three and one eighth inch wide. Perhaps just a tad overbuilt!? I really like the look though!

post-5493-12719192490523_thumb.jpg

Nice looking, but...with that fat of a tang how fat of a shaft are you planning to use?
Phil