I Forge Iron

Milling off anvil face...

Guys and gals,
Newbie here...just got a forge and avil stand built and set up in my barn. I bought a 150 pound Hay Budden in fairly rough shape....the face is uneven, and there aren't really any good edges left on the side. I figured I would just stick the anvil in one of my father's milling machines and mill off the surface till it is completely level and square....and at the same time that should square off the edges a little bit as well.
Is there anything "wrong" with doing it this way? I don't imagine I would need to take much more than 1/8" to 1/4" off the surface.
Thanks
-Kevin

PS I guess I'm not *totally* new...I always lurk around forums looking at everyone's setups and hand-made items and get jealous and angry that I don't have any time to devote to this but once every few weekends. :)

1) how thick is the anvil face? is there going to be 1/2 inch of face or more left when you are done?

2) consider skimming the feet, then flipping it over onto a level bottom to trim the top.

3) read these links before doing anything.

Link removed as per request The link suggests only that the amount of radius is personal taste. 

Phil

Phil,
I'm assuming you are asking about how much steel is left on the face? This I don't know - I'm assuming this is a standard iron anvil with steel face on top....but eh, I don't know how one tells where the steel ends and the iron begins.

you clean the side of the anvil and look for the weld line. You may need to etch the cleaned surface to see the parting line with some anvils. Some anvils only have 1/2 inch of face, others have more, some have the whole top half of the anvil as tool steel. Modern anvils are solid cast steel. If you take the thickness of the face much below 1/2 inch, it will not be strong enough to rebound properly, so welding will be a much better option.
Phil