I Forge Iron

belt wear

jason0012

I was reading a post where a new smith was asking about grinders and thought I might ask a slightly different question. I have been making knives for many years now, and recently upgraded from the old 1x30 to a 2x42. The lousy sears model was a stop gap addition to the shop while I decided which real grinder I wanted. I have however used it quite a bit and never gotten around to getting a better one.
Now for my question. I go through a LOT of belts on this thing, and I mean a LOT of belts. This of course gets pretty expensive. 2x72 belts aren't much more expensive but nearly twice the length so therefore obviously a better value. What has me stumped with belts is that I seem to be working cheaper to file and sand by hand!( shop rate $120 an hr) Are the expensive belts really worth the money? I am using 3-4 belts to grind a 5 inch blade( forged to nearly finished size)then another 120 & 220 grit. At $5-$8 a belt that adds up fast. I see 2x72 belts listed for as much as $15-18 and have to wonder, could I really grind more than one blade with one of these?

I should add that the sears belts are definately not the best quality and being an odd size not generaly available anywhere else.

I get a lot of sq inches of damascus steel with a 40 grit blaze belt, then I move up to 100 grit blaze, getting 6 to 10 blades easy with the 100 grit, 3 to 8 with the 40 depending on how much shaping I have to do after forging. 2 x 72 on my bader B3, having said that I cant get one blade from a budget AO belt. to cost is about the same, PITB from stopping work and using partly worn belts is worth getting better belts and just working smoothly.

• 2 weeks later...