I Forge Iron

What tools and equipement do I need

Hi

Complete novice just about to venture into the world of smithing and wondering what tools and equipement I will need!

The short of it is that we run a small mental health project at a woodland site. We make charcoal and do green woodwork/primitive skills. I was looking to set up a couple of forges (probably break drum forges as we don't have a lot of tech to hand) to make up some bowl turning hooks and take it from there really.

Would really value some advice on what you guys would recommend. There is no power for starters so recommendations for bellows would be great, (box bellows probably aren't suitable for this setting). And if we are making some tools what is the best way to get the final edge on them? (aware that this would be best done back at the workshop, but what kind of grinder might suit us? would a linisher be useful? We will be straigthening out coil springs for starters (pot holes are bad here at the moment and it is a good source of HC steel for us to play with!)

Sorry for all of the questions but any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Leo

Hi

Complete novice just about to venture into the world of smithing and wondering what tools and equipement I will need!

The short of it is that we run a small mental health project at a woodland site. We make charcoal and do green woodwork/primitive skills. I was looking to set up a couple of forges (probably break drum forges as we don't have a lot of tech to hand) to make up some bowl turning hooks and take it from there really.