I Forge Iron

Mokume

Jeddly

Hey guys and gals,

I was bored today, so I made some Mokume out of a buck and a half. I've never done this before, and it felt rather gratifying to actually see some striations coming out. I drilled it four times, and pounded it flat again. Then I sanded it. Its at the 150 grit stage now.
P1270447.jpg
Sorry for the subpar picture.

Maybe it will be my unofficial lucky coin, and ride in my pocket for a while.

I guess that would be nice huh.

I have a set of tongs I hammered out of some 1" pipe, and twisted. The mouth is about 1.5" wide. This pair of tongs are perfect for this sort of thing, as the mouth holds the material just right.
Anyways, at first, I tried heating them up to bright red, and dusted them with some borax. I figured the borax would help with the welding process. I was wrong.
My next shot at it I skipped the borax, and left them clamped in the tongs until a bright red color formed. I let it hang out there (bright red) for a little while, then promptly pulled it out of the fire. Next, I stuck the hot stuff in the vise, and cranked on it good. I did this process twice.

Back into the fire to a bright red, and then alternated between the anvil and fire a couple times to squish it out. Somewhere along the way, I drilled it four times, and flattened it some more. I teased it a little bit with a 120 grit bit on my dremel to get the ick off of it, then went to the 100 and 150 grit sandypaper.

The next one I make I am going to try either a twist, or maybe carve my initials into it. Or better yet, I could carve the initials of my parents in it, and give it to them as a gift!!

Genius!!!

I think you forgot to tell what the buck and a half was incase those looking dont know.
New US quarters.
I do mine in a fixture made up of 1 1/2 X 1/4" steel with two 5/16" holes drilled.
I drill the holes far enough apart so with the bolts in it can still slide onto the vise jaws.