I Forge Iron

making a point (literally)

inuroku842

Okay, I am completely new to this and am in the process of making my very first blade, ever. I have a rough shape of the blade and have the right thickness that I want and everything, but for the life of me I can't figure out how to put a point at the tip. It looks more like a golf club than the end of a knife. Can somebody please help?

First single edge or double edge?

Hot cut it, grind it, or forge it. When forging a point you need to have the blade with the tip at the edge of the anvil so you can hit down on it with 1/2 the hammer face below the face of the anvil. I generally like to finish off tipping a single edge blade on the horn to drag the tip and any birds mouth beyond the level of the back of the blade so when filed or ground it's totally gone.

single edge, but I'm working on a piece of rail iron for an anvil. I used a piece of leaf spring for blade material. I don't really know how to forge a tip onto the blade, I don't want to have to cut away any material in order to put a tip on it, partly due to the fact that I don't have the hardware required to do it (aside from cutting it on the edge of the anvil, kind of a pain sometimes).

Heat it back up and draw it down into a point (if you can't cut it) and then worry about thinning the blade back. I usually forge the point roughly first and the form the blade and work back to the point again. There really isn't a wrong way to do it. Usually just whatever works.

Do you have any pictures?

I used a hacksaw on the knife I'm working on now. Since then, I've come to experience the pure bliss of a 4 1/2 inch angle grinder with cut-off wheel. I highly recommend it as an inexpensive way to cut metal. The black and decker from walmart should do fine for low intensity work and I think it runs around $30. $5 for the cut-off wheel. Forging after you have the blade to shape will require careful attention to keep from folding the blade. Good luck with the process!