I Forge Iron

Flint Strikers

Hello, I know the materials used for flint strikers or strike-a-lights vary and their heat treatment and annealing determine if you get a good shower of sparks or just skinned knuckles. What works for you? How many flint strikers have you made? What are your favorite or best selling designs? Any helpful input? Thanks BRForge

BRF, the best strikers that I have made have been from 3/8" coil spring that I straightened. I draw it down to about 5/16" square, taper the ends and scroll or roll the tip. Then shape to a "C". The one problem that I had, I'm sure was my fault. I don't know what I did wrong, when I started making them, but I tried to anneal them in ashes, then the next day I heated them to just red and quenched in motor oil. It turned out so hard that I could barely get sparks. So when I got done with the forging, I started just letting them air cool and ended up getting a lot of sparks. I am by no means an expert. But I have made and sold several dozen at rendezvous. No complaints, yet, and have had several return customers. :)

We can delete it but someone will have to pick up the slack. The avert bot is helping pay the bills.

In that case, welcome to the site Mr Advert Bot, may your efforts and presence be fruitful

Just consider it an underlining of the initial post, or a moment to reflect before responding.

Oh and I use old files for making strikers, works for me.

Old files, water quench, no temper.

Only quench the striking edge.

Made dozens, no failures to date, except the one I tried to straighten a bit after it was hardened.

One hint... clean the striking edge scale-free before you harden.

Clean it up again (sand paper) before you use it.

Old files!