I Forge Iron

a word for oven tempering

I've been blacksmithing for something like four years now and have only been messing around with carbon steel for the last year. I still don't know anything about it, as I don't have a teacher and so no hands on pro-experiance. However, I have made a variety of tools this summer using oven tempering. I've made 2 hole punches, 2 eye, punches, 2 knives, a cold center punch, and I'm working on 2 chisels now. (One flat one curved face.) I usually forge, anneal twice (if grinding,) quench at critical, and then oven temper at 2-350 degrees. I don't know if this is correct procediure or not, but I will say this much. None of my tools have cracked or chipped and my blades hold a good edge. I've done this with sucker rod and leaf springs and it seems to work. Even the center punch (sucker rod) has withstood about 20 blows (cold in 1/8 to 1/4 bar and plate) and is still holding it's point undaunted. So if you are a newbie when it comes to carbon, I would not be afraid to make some quick get-by tools this way. That is get-by until you can get with a pro and learn better method.

I'm sure you pro guys might have a word to stick in too, so if this is in eror, or another step would increase function, post corrections.

I know though, when I was starting out, I was afraid to work with carbon just because I had no idea how to do all of the steps right. However, like I said, these tools that I am making now only take a couple hours and last quite well. I wish I had known how to do this when I was first starting, because it would have made a lot more stuff possible and it would have made a lot of stuff easier!

Dave