I Forge Iron

$50 Post Vice Questions

Mark Wargo New2bs

I found the pictured vice available for $50. It seems to be in good physical shape, but when I turned the handle, it would not open on it's own (It moved freely by hand after spinning the handle). Is it possible that the spring has lost it's umph and needs to be replaced? Also, the ring between the handle and the vice jaws was loose, and moved out with the handle. Would $50 be reasonable for this vice, assuming I can get some of my more mechanically inclined friends to assist in repairing the workings? I apologize for the photo quality, but it was late and I was freezing and all I had was the phone. Thanks.

Mark

post-11994-12632702966953_thumb.jpg

50$ in the condition you describe does seem a bit high to me but then again i'm known to be pretty tight
for 20 though prob. ok i'm sure you could fix the spring
but i'm no expert. i have seen them go on auctions pretty cheap

Hi New2BS, I just bought one the is somewhat like the one you posted for $35 and it needs repair in the jaw area. Went to Anvilfire and found an article that heiped me date the vise and give me an idea what I have.I got lucky and did not get hurt. If your not worried about it being sold you may want to do some home-work first and not gamble the way I did. Like I said I did it backwards and got lucky. Good Luck

My 2 cents, The spring can be replaced,rebent. Might just need a good cleaning/oiling. The ring is a cone washer
it's supposed to be loose. Looks better than my first one.(5 in 70 lbs)Paid $60 for it. 2nd one missing the leg
piid $30 for it. Price depends on where you are and how often you see them.
Ken