I Forge Iron

Resale license

Its the new year and I'm on the road to change from a service to a manufacturing company (crazy huh). Over the years as a General Contractor, I have never found the need for a resale license, now however, I'm wondering if it is worth the extra paperwork and accounting involved. Any tips I should know and black holes I should look out for?

Thanks All!

Its the new year and I'm on the road to change from a service to a manufacturing company (crazy huh). Over the years as a General Contractor, I have never found the need for a resale license, now however, I'm wondering if it is worth the extra paperwork and accounting involved. Any tips I should know and black holes I should look out for? Thanks All!

This web site has some good advice, including checking with your local Chamber of Commerce for information, because the jargon used and rules are different from location to location: http://www.entrepreneur.com/homebasedbiz/legalissues/article75248.html

The bottom line seems to be that regardless of whether your locale calls something a resale license or a sales tax permit/number the governmental authorities in your area are going to want to make sure that you collect and give them sales taxes on anything you sell, thus requiring some sort of registration and/or permit. :(

Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer, nor do I claim *any* expertise on the law or legal system.

Now is time for the experts to tell me I am wrong. Hurray! :D

Well, I would suggest moving to a more business friendly state, but that probably isn't in the cards ;)

When I had my shop the resale card was a way to keep some cash in the business, by being able to buy material tax free. The tax was later collected from the final consumer/customer. That is one of the first questions a supplier will ask you, what is your resale number.