I Forge Iron

new member intro

goatherder

Hi all, I am a retired oil field engineer who is now self employed at goat ranching in central Texas. I have been forging iron for about 10 years mostly to repair something that is broken, but sometimes to make something new.
After looking around the forums, I can't believe how many people are interested in banging on hot iron. I always thought I was alone in the wilderness. This is going to be fun.

Goatherder

Howdy from East TEXAS!! and welcome to IFI! You nailed it when you said "This is going to be fun" Let me suggest that you check out www.balconesforge.org they are the Central TEXAS ABANA group. Join them if you can, you'll learn a ton with them and have a blast doing it. If you are close to Dallas there is the North Texas Blacksmith Assoc., not sure of their web addy. do a google for them.
Wife and I are from Goldthwaite, TX. How close are you to there? My brother-in-law lives north of there and has 200 head of goats that he raises. My father-in-law had 450 head back in the '80s and '90s. There is a man south of G'waite that has a bunch of Blacksmith tools if you are interested...sorta pricey with some things tho. Anyway, glad you are here. Enjoy

Hi all, I am a retired oil field engineer who is now self employed at goat ranching in central Texas. I have been forging iron for about 10 years mostly to repair something that is broken, but sometimes to make something new.

After looking around the forums, I can't believe how many people are interested in banging on hot iron. I always thought I was alone in the wilderness. This is going to be fun.

Goatherder