I Forge Iron

$20* forges capapable of welding

reefera4m

Brand NEWBIE here so sorry if this is old news.

Here's a couple of forges I built for $20* each *(excluding the regulator which I had and scrap materials which I also had). The first design wasn't optimal for even heating so I changed the burner position on the second. #2 has offset burners that create a 'swirl' effect and heat more evenly (though a little slower). Both operate well at between approximately 6 and 12 psi.

Both now have a refractory cement coating over the KOAwool.

If interested I have a complete list of material and tools required - no charge.

Main cost:
12" length of 6" steel pipe = $10
1' KAOwool $8
1 gas valve $2 Harbor Freight

All the rest was scrap but if priced new would be another $10.

Tools used:
MillerMatic 175 MIG Welder
3/4 metal cutting hole saw
4" grinder w/cutoff wheels *$.79 @ HB
3/4" Pipe Threader (not needed if purchasing new nipples)
Drill and tap for the MIG .030 welding tips

The venturi cones were made from 3" lengths of 2" diameter scrap exhaust pipe. The adjusting rod was an old 1/2" carriage bolt welded to a 3/8" black steel 'T'.

Base was made from 2 pieces of 3" scrap angle steel 24" long welded together.

After only 3-4 minutes almost to welding temp and this was before coating the KOAwool with refractory cement.

19722.attach

19723.attach

19724.attach

19725.attach

19726.attach

19727.attach

19728.attach

• 2 weeks later...

Couple of modification/enhancements to the original design. I coated the KOAWOOL with refractory cement and then ITC100 - both really help increase the internal temperature by reflecting the heat back into the forge.