I Forge Iron

Types of Steel.

Titan1921

I have acess to a large scrap area at my job and am wondering if any of what is in there any good for making blades.
In the bin are cylinders made from stress proof steel, 40 Cr, and 40CrA. Not to mention that I have acess to about all of the used table saw blades that I could want. The cyclinders range fron 1/8" to about 3/8" thick.
Woud any of that material work for good blade material? I am very new to this and don't have a much of a back ground in types and qualities of steel.

Thanks.

For blades I guess yo first need to decide if yoiu want stainless or igh carbon steel..Stainless is basically not for someone new ,,however you can grind the blade to shape and send it out to have heat treaterd. Carbon is fine for someone new and can be done with a minimum of shop equipment. Look first at the carbon content. You need a minimum of about .60 carbon and the upper limit is about 1.0. I would suggest you look up 5160 steel, 1084 and 1095 and learn how they show wot the content is and how they are heat treated. Then yoiu can review the make up of the steels you mentioned and see how they compare in all of the areas. Bp 0078 may help you as a lot of info is in it as well as the knife stickies.
Table saw blades may be a good choice unless they have had teeth added on for cut4ting. When they add they hard teeth it means that the rest of the blade is not of a steel that is likely to hold an edge like you want for a knife...There is simply tons of material on this site that were written with yoiu and me in mind to help us choose. May also want to invest in a book written by Wayne Goddard called $50 knife shop..local library may havve it or be able to borrow it for you. Have fun/