I Forge Iron

Going both ways? Forging and casting

Saulnier

So I have been lurking around this site for a while and have read tons of information.
I have also done a ton of reading at BYMC melting metal in a home foundry, backyard metalcasting, metal casting
I have done some aluminum and brass casting many years ago. I am a competent welder as I spent 14 years as a shop teacher before my current job.
I am interested in both casting and forging.
My question is this:

Can one apparatus be built that could be used as both a furnace and a forge?
It seems to me that the major difference is the placement of the burner. Could a furnace be built with kaowool and ITC100 as the refractory? Could a forge be built with cast refractory? What about one unit with 2 burner ports where the one that is not being used is "plugged" with kaowool?
This set up would be laid on the side for forging and set on end for melting.

Just thinking out loud as I am interested in both but don't have funds to build dedicated machines.

I realize that a purpose built furnace might not make a great forge, nor will a purpose built forge make a great furnace. Is there a happy medium?

Would a forge melt aluminum and brass in a small 6"diaX6" tall crucible?
Just to complicate it I would probably run it in gas and or oil
What say you?

Saulnier

I got my real start in blacksmithing by beating on steel while waiting for my bronze to melt. You're right in saying that a melting furnace isn't the best forge. Well the same goes for the forge, it isn't the best melting furnace. I built my first gas forge using my melting furnace burner. WOW! What a blast! In no time at all I had it up to welding heat, nothing like a forced draft burner to get things really hot. Since aluminum melts at a somewhat lower temperature than bronze I'm sure that you can ghetto rig a way to get the crucible to sit there while you melt the metal. Is it the best way? No, but you can make it work.:cool: