I Forge Iron

newbie forging bevels

kd5jbk

Hello there. Let me introduce myself. My name is Chauncey and I am a complete noob to forging knives. I have made a few over the years vis stock removal but wanted to give forging a try. I can get the tang and the overall shape of the knife forged out just fine but I can't seem to get the hang of the bevel. I can make one side of the blade perfect but I just can't seem to get the hang of making the bevel on the other. Just can't seem to get the hang of working on the left side of my anvil. (1"thick 7x12 piece of mild steel). hammer angle is just all wrong. I am practicing on some 1 x 1/8 a36 steel right now. Plan to use 5/32 or 3/16 O1 for the actual blade. Is there any techniques or tips you guys can help me out with?(besides practice practice and more practice?)

Thanks
Chauncey

Have you thought of grabbing the blank by the tip instead of the tang and doing most of the bevel on your good side and only having a minimal amount to bevel on your off side?

But Practice Practice Practice is the real answer!

BTW if you edit your user CP to put in your general location you might find a local smith that can help you out.

I teach complete novices to forge blades, so I've seen quite a lot of frustration over not being able to forge bevels well from one side or the other. As attested to by the dings in my teaching anvils :(

a few things that are worth trying:

1) lock your tong arm into your side to stabilise it on the anvil. That way you can get a rythm going with the hammer without the metal moving around and causing you to lose focus
2) on your off-side concentrate on individual blows rather than a stream of forging blows. IE it is easier to place one blow at a time in the correct position than it is to do it fast. I do this when I'm forging a tight area that requires more than my usual level of accuracy on my offside