I Forge Iron

my shop

I spent the week end removing the styrofoam low ceiling in my shop. I am new to blacksmithing and fired up my new diamondback forge and i got to thinking that the styrofoam ceiling might be prone to fire! This has been my welding shop for about a year, just for hobby stuff, but now i have the blacksmithing bug so i;m turning it into a smithy! Just thought i would share. sorry for the pictures being blurry, i used my phone.http://www.iforgeiron.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=16456&stc=1&d=1250049318http://www.iforgeiron.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=16455&stc=1&d=1250049318

16455.attach

16456.attach

Rob,
I have two evaporative swamp coolers at one end of the shop that blow alot of fresh cool air, and a large vent with a 1500 cfm fan in the roof over the forge. I try to keep it closed up when im working to not bother the neighbors. i do have a carbon monoxide detector installed.

Nice one Oak Hill! Yeah, the miller products hold their value for sure. I love that machine, very smooth arc. I'm no pro but i've been a union ironworker for fifteen years and have always wanted to have a shop! A plasma cutter is definitely on my list, my oxy acety torch does fine for now. i get bottles filled free through work because i am a foreman! I have to say the best investment tool wise after the tig machine would have to be the 7x12 vertical, horizontal bandsaw. Its liquid cooled and i can cut through thick solids pretty fast. i use it to cut square tube and such for furniture making. i make really uncomfortable artistic furniture! At least i did until i decided i needed to include blacksmithing into my hobby!