I Forge Iron

Copper thickness for spinning

Fe-Wood

Hi all-
I've been spinning copper for almost 6 months now. I am beginning to get the hang of it :confused:. So much so that I ordered a bunch of sheet stock, tired of fussing with scrap.... Anyway, somewhere along the way I read .040 copper was the recommended thickness for spinning. MAN is that tough!!!!!! I am trying to spin some big bowls, about 16" across with a depth of about 4". After spinning and annealing about 5 times, I'm about halfway up my blank. There is so much volume in the copper, I had to rob the burner from my forge in order to get it hot enough to anneal, even with that I can just bearly get a dull cherry red. My question is: Did I get to thick a copper and is Revere Copper a different composition so it is less malleable? This stuff seams really tough, even though it is almost twice the thickness I'm used to. Any isight would be great!
Thanks-

I wish I could be more help. I don't have a clue about "Revere Copper". What's the alloy?

We wouldn't've had a problem spinning 0.040" copper. If it's a reasonably pure copper alloy it shouldn't be work hardening before you can make one pass unless you're playing pitty pat with it.

Fussing around instead of getting on with moving it will work harden it pretty quickly. It's the same effect you run into drilling copper alloys, if you don't feed it fast enough it'll work harden in front of the bit and gall. If you make too light a pass copper will harden in front of and around the tool stopping progress quickly.

For example Dad would spin a copper half sphere in maybe three passes with scissor tools, maybe 5-6 with hand tools. It takes more feel to hog the movement but sometimes it's the only way.

Just bear in mind this is speculation on my part, there's too much I don't know about the alloy you're spinning, your set up, tools, etc. and the simple fact I haven't touched a spinning tool in a good 40 years and those were scissor tools.

Frosty