I Forge Iron

I plan to make a few Roman javelins (not the pilum type this time) which look like socketed spear points with a "long neck" in between the socket and the point. Some had leaf-shaped points, some had pyramidal points. Example here

I've never done this process before, so tell me if I'm thinking the right way. I'm starting from about 8" of 1/2" mild steel square stock.

1. taper the butt into a trapezoid, large end out, flatten some, then thin it into a socket by using a fuller and hammer.
2. draw out the "neck"
3a. shape the leaf point into a rough, flattened "right shape", then forge to cutting edges and point.
3b. or, draw the distal end into a 4-sided pyramid for that type point
4. Shape the socket around the newly installed stump bick to fit the shaft. I'm using 3' x 3/4" hardwood dowel, so the open end has to be smaller than 3/4" by a little, to allow for fitting the wood
5. drill and put a pin to hold the socket on.

Sound right? Should I aim in a different direction or order? Should I start at the pointy end first?

The socket doesn't run teh whole length of the 'shaft' (that makes life a bit easier), so the way I would go about it is:

1)flatten the last couple of inches and darw it wide with the cross peen of my hammer, keep going til its a nice wide fishtail and flatten
2) tidy the edges of the trapizoid if butting together or not if overlapping.
3) form the socket around a 3/4" mandrel (I would do it by eye and the tidy up at the end)
4) sever from parent bar and hold the socket with appropriate tongs.
5) draw down the shaft and neck in for the head.
6) forge the point.
7)tidy everything up and straighten

I haven't made a javelin like that one before, but I've made socketed pila and lots of arrowheads, so teh principle is the same ;)