I Forge Iron

help for a newbee

hey all i'm new to the art of blade smithing of any shape or discribtion. my plan is to bring back a bit of tradition, ya see i'm Irish and and back in the day Ireland had some of the best blacksmiths an swordsmiths in the world well so i heard ha.

so after months of searching a found an anvil 60kg/132lb for sale in a car boot sale. 250euro approx $260 so happy days anvils this size are like gold dust here.

and received high heat resistant blocks from a brick factory that is closing down for free.

i was just wondering would any one here be able to throw some advice or tips my way like what tool would be good to start with and likes, all or any help will make me very greatful.

thanks in advance.

Edited by ginjaninja

Welcome aboard Ginjaninja, glad to have ya.

Good score on the anvil and brick.

There are only a couple more things you need to get started forging. A source of air blast for the fire, a bellows can be made inexpensively a blow hair drier works just fine while you look for the perfect blower, bellows etc.

A hammer or two, any with a smooth face will do to get you started, ball peins are common and work well. Keep your eyes open for cross and straight peins, single jack sledges, drillering hammers, etc. I pick up every ball pein I can for under a $ as they're perfect to reshape for specialty hammers and top tools.

That's about it for the MUST haves: anvil, hot fire and something to hit with.

Some other VERY handy things are:

Tongs, vise grips or pliers will work just fine till you find or better yet MAKE some proper tongs.

A few chisels, hack saw and an assortment of files and sand paper pretty much rounds out the basic kit.