I Forge Iron

Hello all, new here

Gills

Hey everybody. I am completely new to blacksmithing. I have been interested in the idea for about a year now. The idea of creating something with your hands that is uniquely yours, and the things you can do by manipulating metal (that I have researched) is quite amazing.

I am from Pennsylvania. I recently graduated from college with an undergraduate degree, so until now I could not afford, nor did I have the time to invest in this hobby. I will also be going back to graduate school for my masters degree, so my time and money will be limited again for a while.

To get myself started I have been going to auctions, trying to collect the tools and equipment that I need to start this hobby. It took a while because for some reason the price and collectability have greatly increased for anvils
(making them ridiculously expensive and just plain too much money for any normal person to get one), because apparently people actually collect anvils, not to use them but to just collect them.

I got lucky and did get a hand crank blower connected to a stand that would make a pretty decent starter forge until I can find or make a better forge. Oh, the brand of the blower and stand is a Lancaster Forge in case anybody is interested. I also very recently got an anvil at an auction, that came with some different kinds of tongs, metal rods, and a couple of hardy hole tools.
So, I am getting close to being ready to begin my hobby. I also, besides looking for other general blacksmith associated tools, am looking at auctions for a arc welder for metal working projects.

Sorry, I did not mean to make this a long speech. So, thanks for having me on your forums. I am looking forward to discussing blacksmithing in general with you all.

Erik

Welcome aboard Erik, glad to have ya.