I Forge Iron

Anvil question

Hi, Guys,

I'm new to this blacksmithing stuff, and I have a question about an anvil. Is it possible to repair an anvil that has chipped edges? Could it be welded up and refinished? Would it be better to machine the top off and replace the top with a hardened but tempered piece of tool steel? The top is OK, but the edges are pretty chipped up. I was thinking of starting to try to make some knives, and this would be an anvil I would be starting out on. Thanks, Lew

Welcome aboard Lew, glad to have you.

You most certainly can rebuild your anvil but you're more likely to ruin it at this stage than actually improve it. When first starting out most folk think an anvil needs to have a clean flat face, crisp edges and a good shine on it. None of these are really necessary.

Crisp, 90* edges are not particularly desirable on an anvil, radiused edges are. A sharp corner causes a stress point when forging a shoulder over it, this is inviting failure, especially during heat treat.

A round edge on the other hand makes the corner stronger and less prone to failure.

If you do need a crisp edge it's easy to make a stake that fits in the hardy hole with crisp edges.

A slightly sway backed face is actually easier to straighten stock on and if the face is nicked up a little it won't hurt the work. You'll need to leave some extra stock for the grinder is all if you're making blades.

How about sending some pics of your anvil so we'll have a better idea of what you have to work with.

If you'll click "User CP" at the top of the page and edit your profile to show your location it can make a big difference. IFI is represented by members from more than 50 countries and a lot of info is location specific. Also, if local folk know you're there they can invite you to get togethers, tip you to tool deals and offer hands on help.

Frosty