I Forge Iron

types of steel

Hi all,
This is my first post and have had a couple of questions about some steel types and alloys.

First for a little background, I am working on making my first forge out of a break drum and a 55 gallon barrel and working on finding something suitable for an anvil right now. I am a full-time student in collage, a full-time machinist and father of two (like i really need more to do right?)

Now on to the questions; One in the shop we use a couple of different steels that I'm not sure if they would be good for forging, Like 12L14 and 12L14 TE (TE stands for Tellurium). I might be able to ask the boss to buy remnants for pretty cheap, if I pay more then the scrap yard.

Mike

Is there a list of materials anywhere that are suitable for forging with? And how do you know what kind of metal you are picking up from scrap piles, side of the road, etc.? Is there a way to determine if the scrap you find is not going to cause metal fume fever or some other kind of problem?

I know we refer to the L as leaded, so I assumed there might be lead.

We do use air cleaners but also when machined most material is sprayed with oil or water soluble coolant so at work I'm not worried. Since I have no workshop the sky would be my roof and the privacy fence my walls so I'm totally not worried about home.

From what I've seen Leaded is good for machining less chatter and higher speed, Tellurium is even better.

12L14 is about (Weight %) C 0.15 (max) Mn 0.85-1.15 P 0.04-0.09 S 0.26-0.35 Pb 0.15-0.35 and 12L14 TE I can't find a make-up but it must be close but with TE added

We use a lot of L steels but only one TE. Of course we use 1144, 1215, 1018, 1045...... too

Edited by superscifi12

I know we refer to the L as leaded, so I assumed there might be lead.