I Forge Iron

too hard

stangcrazy85

so i am new here and thus far i'm loving it
anyhow i used a nichols medium to large file for a knife blade tang and all
i let it get white hot and then cool ever so slow did all the grinding and shaping then got it hot in the forge thun plunged it in the used motor oil
that thing is soooo hard even old grandpa could barley get a edge on it said he had to hone the crap out of it
my question is why did it get so **** hard ????
im new to this so go easy on me

Edited by steve sells
Crude language is a violation of IFI policy

I'm afraid you're probably produced a dangerous knife on your first attempt. Heating to white is WAY too hot and grain growth will cause weakness. Not tempering it is another mistake that makes it brittle and liable to fail when you need it most.

Do a little reading and ask some questions before you make your next knife. In the mean time build fires and forge things from mild steel to learn the basic skills you'll need. Follow the "Lessons in Blacksmithing and Getting Started" sections.

Frosty

When you quench a high carbon steel it comes out hardened and will often be as brittle as glass---drop it on concrete and it can shatter into pieces! It also has terrible stresses in it from the quench and can even break just sitting on a bench.

So as soon as you get a blade out of quench you *gently* clean it up and draw termper on it. Tempering trades some of the hardness for toughness making it easier to sharpen and also able to take use stresses without shattering in your hand.

Tempering temps are based on the alloy, quench medium, intended use, personal preference and is done BEFORE you put a handle/grip on the blade as the temps are usually too high for hilting materials.

You did read that BP on heat treating blades didn't you? Seems odd we should have to type all that stuff in again just for you.